American College of Bond Counsel

Leadership

2020/21 Board of Directors

The College is governed by a Board of Directors, elected to the College for three-year terms. Officers are elected to a one-year term.

OFFICERS


Todd L. Cooper, President
Locke Lord LLP
7850 Five Mile Road
Cincinnati, OH  45230-2356
Phone:  513-688-8434
todd.cooper@lockelord.com

Todd V. Meierhenry, Vice President
Meierhenry Sargent LLP
316 S. Phillips Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD  57104
Phone:  605-336-3075
todd@meierhenrylaw.com

Helen C. Atkeson, Secretary
Hogan Lovells US LLP
1601 Wewatta Street, Suite 900
Denver, CO  80202-5835
Phone:  303-899-7311
helen.atkeson@hoganlovells.com

W. Glenn Opel, Treasurer
Bracewell LLP
111 Congress Avenue, Suite 2300
Austin, TX  78701-4061
Phone:  512-542-2114
glenn.opel@bracewell.com

 

Directors


Helen C. Atkeson
Hogan Lovells US LLP
1601 Wewatta Street, Suite 900
Denver, CO  80202-5835
Phone:  303-899-7311
helen.atkeson@hoganlovells.com

Todd L. Cooper
Locke Lord LLP
7850 Five Mile Road
Cincinnati, OH  45230-2356
Phone:  513-688-8434
todd.cooper@lockelord.com

Michela Daliana
Hawkins, Delafield & Wood LLP
7 World Trade Center
250 Greenwich Street, Fl. 41
New York, NY  10007-2442
Phone:  212-820-9631
mdaliana@hawkins.com

Donald L. Hunt
Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP
555 S. Flower Street, Floor 41
Los Angeles, CA  90071-2300
Phone:  213-892-9316
don.hunt@nortonrosefulbright.com

Andrew R. Kintzinger
Hunton & Williams LLP
2200 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, DC  20037-1709
Phone:  202-955-1837
akintzinger@hunton.com

Carol L. Lew
Stradling Yocca Carlson & Rauth, P.C.
660 Newport Center Drive, Suite 1600
Newport Beach, CA  92660-6458
Phone:  949-725-4237
clew.sycr.com

Kathleen C. McKinney
Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A.
P.O. Box 2048
Greenville, SC  29602-2048
Phone:  864-240-3243
kmckinney@hsblawfirm.com

Todd V. Meierhenry
Meierhenry Sargent LLP
316 S. Phillips Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD  57104
Phone:  605-336-3075
todd@meierhenrylaw.com

John C. Merchant
Dinsmore & Shohl LLP
255 E. Fifth Street, Suite 1900
Cincinnati, OH  45202
Phone:  513-639-9224
john.merchant@dinsmore.com

W. Glenn Opel
Bracewell LLP
111 Congress Ave., Suite 2300
Austin, TX  78701-4061
Phone:  512-542-2114
glenn.opel@bracewell.com

Carol D. Polumbo
McCall, Parkhurst & Horton L.L.P.
600 Congress Ave., Suite 2150
Auston, TX  78701
Phone:  512-478-3805
cpolumbo@mphlegal.com

Edward S. Sinick
Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP
30 Rockefeller Plaza, Floor 23
New York, NY  10112-2299
Phone:  212-872-9835
edward.sinick@squirepb.com

Donald P. Ubell
First Tryon Securities
1355 Greenwood Cliff, Suite 401
Charlotte, NC  28204
Phone:  704-831-5204
dubell@firsttryon.com

Barron F. Wallace
Bracewell LLP
711 Louisiana Street, Suite 2300
Houston, TX  77002-2770
Phone:  713-221-1219
barron.wallace@bracewell.com

Richard M. Wright
Gilmore & Bell, P.C.
2405 Grand Ave., Suite 1100
Kansas City, MO  64108-2521
Phone:  816-304-9806
rwright@gilmorebell.com

Alan H. Raynor, Past President
McCall, Parkhurst & Horton L.L.P.
717 N. Harwood Street, Suite 900
Dallas, TX  75201-6587
Phone:  214-754-9200
araynor@mphlegal.com

Virginia D. Benjamin, Second Past President
Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP
The Calfee Building
1405 East Sixth Street
Cleveland, OH  44114-1607
Phone:  216-622-8367
vbenjamin@calfee.com

 

 

Philosophy -

The College believes that a bond lawyer’s expertise can best be judged by his or her peers and has sought to admit to membership in the College only bond lawyers that have long experience and outstanding reputations in the field of municipal bond law. Membership in the College is extremely limited and admission as a Fellow (i.e. member of the College) is a recognition of the lawyer’s accomplishments and legal expertise in the field of bond law. Nominees for membership must have at least ten years of “substantial experience in bond law.”

As demonstrated by the resumes of the Fellows appearing on this site, many of the Fellows have taught courses, spoken at seminars or served on workshop panels about municipal bond financing and its federal tax aspects sponsored by the National Association of Bond Lawyers, bar associations and other organizations. Many have published books or articles on those topics or served on the Editorial Board of a Law Review. Many have received academic honors (such as being elected to the Order of the Coif or Phi Beta Kappa) and other honors.