American College of Bond Counsel

Leadership

2023/24 Board of Directors

The College is governed by a Board of Directors, elected to the College for three-year terms. Officers are elected to a one-year term.

OFFICERS


W. Glenn Opel, President
Bracewell LLP
111 Congress Avenue, Suite 2300
Austin, TX  78701-4061
Phone:  512-542-2114
glenn.opel@bracewell.com

Todd V. Meierhenry, Vice President
Meierhenry Sargent LLP
316 S. Phillips Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD  57104
Phone:  605-336-3075
todd@meierhenrylaw.com

Carol L. Lew, Secretary
Stradling Yocca Carlson & Rauth, P.C.
660 Newport Center Dr., Suite 1600
Newport Beach, CA  92660-6458
Phone:  949-725-4237
clew@sycr.com

John C. Merchant, Treasurer
Dinsmore & Shohl LLP
255 E. Fifth St., Suite 1900
Cincinnati, OH  45202
Phone:  513-639-9224
john.merchant@dinsmore.com

 

Directors


Alan C. Cason
McGuireWoods LLP
500 East Pratt St., Suite 1000
Baltimore, MD  21202-3169
Phone:  410-659-4433
acason@mcguirewoods.com

Michela Daliana
Hawkins, Delafield & Wood LLP
7 World Trade Center
250 Greenwich Street, Fl. 41
New York, NY  10007-2442
Phone:  212-820-9631
mdaliana@hawkins.com

Kristin H. R. Franceschi
DLA Piper LLP (US)
6225 Smith Avenue
Baltimore, MD  21209-3600
Phone:  410-580-4151
kristin.franceschi@dlapiper.com

Teri Guarnaccia
Ballard Spahr LLP
111 S. Calvert St., 27th Floor
Baltimore, MD  21202
Phone:  410-528-5526
guarnacciat@ballardspahr.com

Robyn Helmlinger
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
405 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone:  415-773-5925
rhelmlinger@orrick.com

Carol L. Lew
Stradling Yocca Carlson & Rauth, P.C.
660 Newport Center Drive, Suite 1600
Newport Beach, CA  92660-6458
Phone:  949-725-4237
clew.sycr.com

Richard A. Manley, Jr.
Locke Lord LLP
111 Huntington Ave., 9th Floor
Boston, MA  02199-7613
Phone:  617-239-0384
richard.manley@lockelord.com

Kathleen C. McKinney
Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A.
P.O. Box 2048
Greenville, SC  29602-2048
Phone:  864-240-3243
kmckinney@hsblawfirm.com

Todd V. Meierhenry
Meierhenry Sargent LLP
316 S. Phillips Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD  57104
Phone:  605-336-3075
todd@meierhenrylaw.com

John C. Merchant
Dinsmore & Shohl LLP
255 E. Fifth Street, Suite 1900
Cincinnati, OH  45202
Phone:  513-639-9224
john.merchant@dinsmore.com

W. Glenn Opel
Bracewell LLP
111 Congress Ave., Suite 2300
Austin, TX  78701-4061
Phone:  512-542-2114
glenn.opel@bracewell.com

Faith Pettis
Pacifica Law Group
1191 Second Ave., Suite 2000
Seattle, WA  98101
Phone:  206-245-1700
faith.pettis@pacificalawgroup.com

Carol D. Polumbo
McCall, Parkhurst & Horton L.L.P.
600 Congress Ave., Suite 2150
Auston, TX  78701
Phone:  512-478-3805
cpolumbo@mphlegal.com

Edward S. Sinick
Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP
30 Rockefeller Plaza, Floor 23
New York, NY  10112-2299
Phone:  212-872-9835
edward.sinick@outlook.com

Donald P. Ubell
First Tryon Securities
1355 Greenwood Cliff, Suite 401
Charlotte, NC  28204
Phone:  704-831-5204
goblue363@gmail.com

Todd L. Cooper, Past President
Locke Lord LLP
7850 Five Mile Road
Cincinnati, OH  45230-2356
Phone:  513-688-8434
todd.cooper@lockelord.com

Alan H. Raynor, Second Past President
McCall, Parkhurst & Horton L.L.P.
717 N. Harwood Street, Suite 900
Dallas, TX  75201-6587
Phone:  214-754-9200
araynor@mphlegal.com

 

 

 

Philosophy -

The College believes that a bond lawyer’s expertise can best be judged by his or her peers and has sought to admit to membership in the College only bond lawyers that have long experience and outstanding reputations in the field of municipal bond law. Membership in the College is extremely limited and admission as a Fellow (i.e. member of the College) is a recognition of the lawyer’s accomplishments and legal expertise in the field of bond law. Nominees for membership must have at least ten years of “substantial experience in bond law.”

As demonstrated by the resumes of the Fellows appearing on this site, many of the Fellows have taught courses, spoken at seminars or served on workshop panels about municipal bond financing and its federal tax aspects sponsored by the National Association of Bond Lawyers, bar associations and other organizations. Many have published books or articles on those topics or served on the Editorial Board of a Law Review. Many have received academic honors (such as being elected to the Order of the Coif or Phi Beta Kappa) and other honors.